Welcome to the Australian Astronomical Observatory

Welcome to the Anglo-Australian Telescope

The Anglo-Australian Telescope is operated by the Australian National University on behalf of a consortium of 13 Australian Universities. Its function is to provide world-class observing facilities for Australian optical astronomers.

On the 1st of July the AAT moved from the Department of Industry Innovation and Science to the ANU. This web site is being progressively updated to reflect this change.

The old AAO web pages are still available; however, please use these web pages for all observing related matters.

ESO Strategic Partnership Plan: Australian support

The Government's announcement of a Strategic Partnership with ESO has received broad support from the Australian astronomical research community.

Australia enters Strategic Partnership with ESO

The Australian Government has announced that it will spend $26.1 million for a 10-year Strategic Partnership with the European Southern Observatory (ESO).